England’s 23 Man Squad Unveiled By Roy Hodgson With Very Young Players

England Squad For 2014 FIFA World Cup

Roy Hodgson announced the 23-man Squad of England for 2014 FIFA World Cup; Photo By: Abdelmaksoud

Finally, Roy Hodgson the manager of England national team announced the much awaited provisional squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The 23 man squad that was unveiled yesterday Monday 12th May had Kyle Walker, Michael Carrick and Andy Carroll miss to secure a place.

The Manchester United has had a very poor season which may have contributed to his miss out on the selection process. Carroll who is the West Ham player is among the stand by players due to the injury he has been nursing for a very long time now.

The Tottenham star and defender Kyle Walker has been suffering from pelvic injury which has cost him a place into Hodgson’s squad.

Luke Shaw who is a very young left back secured a place ahead of his counterpart Ashley Cole who after finding out he was not on Hodgson’s list retired from international football the night of Sunday.

After netting fourteen times this season, Rickie Lambert made it into the 23 man squad for England national team. The Toronto FC player and former Tottenham star Jermain Defoe had his efforts only land him at the standby list.

During the 2012 UEFA EURO, Michael Carrick had rejected being part of the standby team but this round he accepted the offer. Tom Cleverley joins Carrick despite having a very bright and shinning season.

Wayne Rooney is part of the 4 strikers that have been selected by the England coach. The midfield of England is more youthful with Frank Lampard 35 as the oldest striker. Jack Wilshere and Alex Oxlade Chamberlin who are the Arsenal superstars made it into the 23 man squad.

The other key players who make the squad complete are Ross Barkley, Raheem Sterling who plays for Liverpool, Adam Lallana and James Milner.

Ashley Young and Adam Johnson are the players who did not make it neither in the squad nor the standby list that comprises of seven players.

Full squad of England for 2014 FIFA World Cup


Ben Foster, Joe Hart, and Fraser Forster;


Phil Jagielka, Luke Shaw, Phil Jones, Gary Cahill, Chris Smalling, Glen Johnson , and Leighton Baines;


Steven Gerrard (captain), Frank Lampard, Adam Lallana, James Milner, Raheem Sterling, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Ross Barkley, Jack Wilshere, and Jordan Henderson;


Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck , Rickie Lambert, and Daniel Sturridge;

Leave a Reply

© 2017 Maizupath.com. All rights reserved.