A look at The 2014 FIFA World Cup Referees

2014 FIFA World Cup Referees

Howard Webb, A Referee From England Who Will Be Refereeing in 2014 FIFA World Cup; Image By: jit bag

FIFA, which is the official governing body of football and the 2014 FIFA World Cup is now in the final preparation of the referees that will be officiating the 64 world Cup matches. FIFA begun with a total of 52 trios of referees in September 2011.

The group consisted of referees across the world main among the 200+ association members of FIFA. FIFA undertook this refereeing project with the main aim of equipping the match officials with desired skills and control of the World Cup matches.

The selection criteria was based on one’s personality and quality when it comes to understanding football plus the game tactics involved. A total number of 25 referees and 2 assistants for each have been selected to take part in the 2014 FIFA World Cup being hosted in Brazil.

The referees come from six different confederations namely ATC, CAF, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC and UEFA. Moreover, a total of 8 support referees together with their assistants will accompany the 25 referees to Brazil.

This will be a representation of 43 different countries in the summer tournament. Europe is the highly produced region with a total of 9 referees, South America with 5, Asia with 4, Africa with 3, CONCACAF region with 3 and final Oceania region producing 1 referee.

As we approach the World Cup, FIFA is running referee programmes that are aimed at teaching the officiates the required knowledge that will enable them run the matches with much easy.

To date, two seminars have successfully been carried out each with a group number of referees and their assistants. Since these referees have been selected from various parts of the world, they have to be trained for uniformity purposes and hence read from one table.

Another seminar is scheduled to take place just 10 days before the 2014 FIFA World Cup kicks off. This is the support and training FIFA is putting in place in order to have a very successful tournament this summer.

The oldest referee selected is aged 43 years while the youngest one is aged 33 years hence a very energetic group that is highly dependable. The FIFA referees committee is on the run to make sure that this project is indeed a success and has vowed to monitor the selected persons closely and regularly.

The committee however made it clear that any of the referee or an assistant who fail the qualification and fitness test before June 12th can be dropped from the given duty. This is to make sure that the selected group is fit and ready to work.

Of the 25 referees is Howard Webb who is known for giving 14 yellow cards and a red card in the 2010 FIFA World Cup final between Spain and Netherlands in South Africa. He was granted this chance by FIFA at the beginning of this year.

I bet, we wait to see these persons as from the opening match of the 2014 FIFA World Cup between Brazil and Croatia. Here are the names of all referees. Please take a look at it.

Europe:- 9 Referees

Bjorn Kuipers (Netherlands), Cuneyt Cakir (Turkey), Carlos Velasco Carballo (Spain), Felix Brych (Germany), Howard Webb (England), Jonas Eriksson (Sweden), Milorad Mazic (Serbia), Nicola Rizzoli (Italy), Pedro Proenca (Portugal);

South America:- 5 Referees

Carlos Vera Rodriguez (Ecuador), Enrique Osses (Chile), Nestor Pitana (Argentina), Sandro Ricci (Brazil), Wilmar Roldan (Colombia);

Asia:- 4 Referees

Ben Williams (Australia), Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan), Yuichi Nishimura (Japan), Nawaf Shukralla (Bahrain);

CONCACAF:- 3 Referees

Joel Aguilar (El Salvador), Mark Geiger (United States), Marco Rodriguez Moreno (Mexico)

Africa:- 3 Referees

Bakary Gassama (Gambia), Djamel Haimoudi (Algeria), Noumandiez Doue (Ivory Coast);

Oceania- 1 Referee

Peter O’Leary (New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

© 2017 Maizupath.com. All rights reserved.